Above and Beyond (Twist of Fate #4) by Lucy Lennox & Sloane Kennedy

50357747. sy475

Title: Above & Beyond
Series: Twist of Fate #4
Author: Sloane Kennedy & Lucy Lennox
Genre: Gay Romance
Release date: January 20th 2020
Page Count: 358 pages
Rating: 4 stars

 

277302437068211 BLURB

Lucky

Two years ago I humiliated myself by declaring my love to an older man who clearly didn’t share my feelings. And that’s fine. One day Zach will come around. Meanwhile, I’ve built a life for myself in northern Montana, pursuing my college degree while working hard toward certification in high-risk alpine search and rescue on the side. And perhaps I’ve kept the danger part a secret from my two dads. After all, what they don’t know won’t hurt them…

Everything’s going exactly as planned until my dads send Zach to check on me just as I’m dealing with an ex who doesn’t understand the meaning of the word no. It’s bad enough Zach still thinks of me as a child; now he also thinks I’m incapable of looking out for myself. I need to get him off my back before he finds out I’m not heading to Wyoming for summer break like everyone thinks. I’m going to Glacier National Park to learn how to rappel from helicopters…

Zach

Two years ago I wanted something I couldn’t have, so I threw myself back into my job as an Army Ranger and wound up scarred in more ways than one. When the army dumps my sorry self back into the real world, it’s time to start over. I accept a summer job teaching high-risk search and rescue. On the way there, all I have to do is peek in on little Lucky Reed and make sure he’s okay.

He’s not. Someone has it out for him, and I’ll be damned if I’m going to let him get hurt on my watch. My plan is to keep him safe until he heads south for his summer job playing trail guide to tourists. Once he’s gone, I’ll be free to head to Glacier where my biggest challenge will be keeping a handful of alpine search and rescue students safe as they learn how to dangle from helicopters high above the Rocky Mountains.

It’s all fine. Until it’s not. Danger follows us to Glacier, and by the time I finally start seeing Lucky as more than the awkward teenager he used to be, I wonder if it’s too late to convince him that this scarred soldier sees him as anything but little anymore.

addtogr amazon1


cooltext315498572227522

4

It has been some time, but I finally got my Sloane Kennedy/Lucy Lennox fix. This is the fourth book in the Twist of Fate series and this time we get “Lucky’s story. And those of you who have been reading all the books in the series, know exactly who Lucky is. Those of you that haven’t…please go back and read “Lost & Found”, because things will be so much clearer if you do. 

https://www.google.com/search?biw=1517

Lucky, who happens to be Xander and Bennett’s son has had a big crush on Zach, for as long as he remembers. Zach, who is Jake’s brother (book 3), has always known about Lucky’s crush, but being much older than Lucky, he has tried to keep his distance. Even going as far as breaking an 18-year-old Lucky’s heart…

But young guys grow up too, and so what is a man to do when he comes face to face with the boy who used to crush on him, only to find out, that he isn’t a boy anymore…but a beautiful young man. A young man who still harbors the same feelings, even though he doesn’t want to in the beginning. 

I have to admit that Zach did get on my nerves at times. I could understand his demons and his doubts, but I really wanted him to snap out of it. Also …being older doesn’t always mean you know better as well. 

For those of you who are a fan of “hurt/comfort”, there is plenty to go around. Both men have tons of issues (especially Zack) that they need to overcome.

97f42d082b5bbe3ce2b9c06aafb30318.jpg (600×900)

This book isn’t a sweet and fluffy read. It is pretty emotional and painful at times. But we all know how sweet that hurt/comfort can be. And even though they had a long way to go…at least they got there…together. 

arcgif2